California State University Channel Islands

President's Planning & Policy Council Monday, May 16, 2011

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Michael Berman, Renny Christopher, Breana Christie, Bill Cordeiro, Joanne Coville, Therese Eyermann, Beth Hartung, Chris Jetton, Jacque Kilpatrick, Sandra Kornuc, Dawn Neuman, Stacy Roscoe, Richard Rush, Greg Sawyer, Diana Smith, Steve Stratton, Jim Walker

MEMBERS ABSENT: Wes Cooper, Jerry Garcia, Bonnie Lanthier, Dana Lockwood, Jonathan Neira, Rosa Rodriguez, Jennifer Schweisinger, Rachel tafoya, Eric Toshalis, John Yudelson, Nelle Moffett

OTHERS PRESENT: Dave Chakraborty, John Gormley, Jane Sweetland, Dan Wakelee, Ching-Hua Wang, Leah Alvarado, Toni Rice, Damien Pena, Maria Elena Ramirez, Richard Montiel. Melissa Remotti

PRESIDENT'S REPORTS

President Rush reported on the Board of Trustee meeting and addressed the rumor about closing campuses. No campuses will be closing. There may be a 32% tuition hike if needed.

Presentation: Student Success Partnership (Jane Sweetland & Jacque Kilpatrick)

Drs. Sweetland and Kilpatrick gave an update to the Council on the work of the Student Success Partnership Committee. Their presentation may be found in the meeting materials.

POLICY

Recommendation:

Policy on Financial Aid Satisfactory Progress (Richard Montiel) – passed with no revisions

Policy on Institutional Grants (Renny Christopher) – passed with no revisions

Policy on Access Management and Facility Security (Dave Chakraborty) – passed with one possible revision to clarify the language on page 3 second paragraph as it is almost identical to language on page 4.

Policy on Death of a Student (Toni Rice) – The Council discussed whether to include alumni and/or former students in the policy. There was also discussion retarding ensure no mechanism for solicitation is allowable. Tania Garcia will review the policy in more detail and work with other on campus to determine if alumni should be added to the accountability section. Also, Ms. Rice will bring forward a procedure to go along with the policy. The policy is held over until Fall.

Policy on Priority Registration for Students with Disabilities (Damien Pena) – passed with no revisions

Policy on Federal Work Study (Maria Ramirez) – passed with no revisions

Policy on State University Grant Awarding (Richard Montiel) – passed with no revisions

Policy on EOP Grant Awarding (Leah Alvarado) – passed with no revisions

The next meeting will be held in Fall 2011, dates to be determined.